Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Gold Prices Slip Ahead of Fed Chair Powell By Investing.com

-


© Reuters.

Investing.com – Gold prices moved lower on Tuesday as markets waited for Federal Reserve chairman Jerome Powell’s two days of testimony to Congress to start.

At 7:57 AM ET (12:57 GMT), for April delivery on the Comex division of the New York Mercantile Exchange fell $3.75, or 0.28%, to $1,325.75 a troy ounce.

Powell’s two-day will kick off at 9:45 AM ET (14:45 GMT) Tuesday in the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs where he will report on monetary policy and the economic outlook.

Powell is widely expected to support recent comments from other Fed members that the central bank is examining the possibility of halting its balance sheet run-off, known as quantitative tightening.

The Fed has pulled an almost complete about-face from just the end of last year when it hiked interest rates and forecast two further increases for 2019.

Having removed wording referring to expectations for “gradual increases” in interest rates from its January policy statement, the end of quantitative tightening would send a further dovish signal which is positive for gold as a non-yielding asset.

Apart from Powell, investors will also keep an eye on the publication of the Conference Board’s for February as well as for December.

In other metals trading, fell 0.52% to $15.748 a troy ounce by 7:58 AM ET (12:58 GMT).

were unchanged at $1,494.45 an ounce, while sister metal traded up 0.12% at $854.60.

In base metals, slipped 0.07% to $2.947 a pound.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.





Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

FOLLOW US

0FansLike
3,600FollowersFollow
0SubscribersSubscribe
spot_img

Related Stories